Reiwa: New Imperial Era Japan


Today, the Japanese government announced the name of the new imperial era: Reiwa. The government has not yet issued the official translation of the name's meaning, but it combines the characters "Rei" which can have meanings related to "order" but also "auspicious", and "Wa" meaning "peace" or "harmony". Reiwa will replace Heisei, the name of the current imperial era. Heisei literally means “become peace,” and the era began in 1989 when the current Emperor Akihito took the throne. Thus, the year Heisei 1 is 1989, Heisei 2 is 1990, and Heisei 3 1991 and so on. While almost unknown outside Japan, [...]